San Francisco and Seattle Yarn Shops

We made it back Thursday morning from San Francisco and Seattle. Our flight was delayed Wednesday to the point we missed our connecting flight in Dallas-Fort Worth. We ended up spending the night in Dallas and flying out Thursday at 6 AM. Now we’re recovering from jet lag.

Our trip was awesome. We spent a week in San Francisco and almost a week in Seattle. My fondest memories while in San Francisco was our first trip over the Golden Gate bridge to Muir Woods and up the Pacific Coast Hwy. The views were gorgeous and the roads scary at times but tons of fun. We rented a convertible Mini from Zip Car named Mr. Miyagi. What an experience!

While in San Francisco we visited Atelier Yarns. The staff was very friendly and the yarn selection was amazing. The lighting was great, which made the colors pop.

It was hard to decide on which yarn to purchase since I didn’t have a specific project in mind but I decided to go with a nice orange for fall. I picked up three skeins of di.Ve’ Autunno in lot #4593. The store clerk advised me it striped and after looking at other people’s projects on Ravelry it’s confirmed. I’m thinking of making some Broad Street Mittens from Knitty. The pattern poses some new challenges for me but I’m up for a new one.

When we arrived in Seattle my long-time friend Kelly and her husband Matt picked us up from the airport. I haven’t seen Kelly and Matt since 2003 so the visit was long over due. After giving each other big hugs, we squeezed into their coupe with three bags of luggage and two book bags and headed to the U District (U = University). We ate lunch at a Latin place on the water’s edge. The food was delicious and the company of course was excellent. We visited the Ballard Locks to watch the Salmon make their way up the ladders and watch the yachts move through the locks. Next we visited Big Time Brewery & Alehouse. What a great place for people watching, I saw more vibrantly dyed hair and mohawks here than anywhere else on our trip. We had a great time hanging out with Kelly and Matt, and I miss them already!

While in Seattle my husband and I stopped at So Much Yarn. The store is within walking distance to the wharf and Pike Place Market. They had two English Bulldogs who greeted us happily, I wish I could remember their names.

After perusing the large selection of yarns organized by weight I chose Berroco Ultra Alpaca in a navy blue.  And I’ve already decided to make Dashing from Knitty for my husband.

One Reply to “San Francisco and Seattle Yarn Shops”

Leave a Reply

