Grandma’s slippers and a hat

Being that I’m from Ohio, we wore slippers all hours of the day during the winter months. My grandma used to make slippers for the family every Christmas. When she became ill a few years ago, she passed the time by crocheting slippers. And after she passed away my mom and I ended up with a bag full of slippers. Lots of them in all different colors and sizes.

When I started knitting 10+ years ago I only made scarves because they were quick, easy and affordable. With Grandma’s passing, I was inspired to make slippers for my mom the following Christmas. I found Dixie L. Butler’s Side Cable Slipper pattern on Ravelry and went to work. I used two strands of yarn, Bernat Soft Boucle and Naturally Caron Country.  She loved them.

(Crappy old picture of mom’s slippers)

I also made a pair for my husband but one slipper ended up 3-4 inches longer than the other (I didn’t realize at the time how important it was to count rows). My husband never really wore them since one fell off every time he lifted his leg to walk anywhere. Oh well, at least I tried.

It’s been over fours years since I’ve knitted him something so I decided he needed a new winter hat. I’m using Berroco Ultra Alapaca yarn in navy (50% Super Fine Alpaca, 50% Peruvian Highland Wool), which I picked up while in Seattle. I’m about half way done with the hat and looking forward to hopefully finishing it this weekend.


The design is based ever so slightly on a refined clothing store’s winter hat. Pattern instructions to come next week so check back.

Leave a Reply

