San Francisco Infinity Scarf

SanFranciscoVacation2010

Over a year ago my husband and I spent a week in San Francisco before venturing up to Seattle for a few days. On our last day in SFO we rented a Mini from Zip Car and raced around the city doing last minute errands like visiting bottle and yarn shops. The first yarn shop I researched ended up being closed so we looked up the next one on my list, which happened to be Atelier Yarns. While there I fell in love with Autunno by  di.Ve’, made from 100% merino wool, and purchased three balls.

It took me almost a year from the time we left for San Francisco to decide what to make with my SFO stash. Finding the right pattern for the self-striping rusty orange colorway was challenging. I wanted something special to remember our wonderful trip by. With memories of the chilly nights in SFO and my new hair cut I needed something to keep me warm. A three-in-one infinity scarf/cowl seemed like a great idea.

I began the scarf while in route to St. John, USVI and was able to get a decent amount done while on our trip. Why wasn’t I spending more time on the beautiful beaches? With Tropical Storm Maria in the area we had to find alternate forms of entertainment like knitting, rummy and Monopoly.

SanFranciscoScarfCowlStJohn

SanFrancisco2011_InfinityScarfCowl3

The rest of September and October was spent repeating the cable pattern and playing with how many rows are in each cable section. I decided the first half of the scarf would be knit with the same number of rows and the second half would be free form. I’m very happy with the change-up and like how it adds another dimension.

SanFrancisco2011_InfinityScarfCowl

As the scarf neared completion I sought out a quality buttonhole technique rather than using the standard yarn over and knit two together. Over the past few months I’ve read quite a few posts from TECHKnitting, which is a great resource. I came across the tulip buttonhole while searching the archives and decided it was a new challenge and perfect for the scarf.

While at SAFF I was on the hunt for three buttons that didn’t detract from the design but didn’t disappear either. I purchased these lovely buttons from Clay Cat and later that evening finished the scarf.

SanFranciscoScarfCowlButtons

The end product is so cozy and eye-catching. It can be worn with brown, black, navy blue, purple and green. I’m looking forward to making a few of these to give as gifts over the holidays. Guess I’d better get started.

SanFrancisco2011_InfinityScarfCowl2

Download the San Francisco Infinity Scarf. Please let me know if you have any questions or issues as I have not fully test knitted the pattern.

5 Replies to “San Francisco Infinity Scarf”

  1. Your scarf is georgous! My niece asked me one for Christmas… would you mind sharing your pattern? Thank you from Québec! Josée Laberge

Leave a Reply

