NYC

My visit to New York City was part pleasure part business. I managed to visit three yarn shops while there and one random store with lots of acrylic, blech.

After dropping my bags off at my friends apartment, I made my way on the 1 train to 79th Street for my first stop along a mini NYC yarn crawl – Knitty City. The place was buzzing with activity. Boxes of newly delivered yarn were scattered about along the floor and I had to squeeze past two women and a store clerk debating what the best yarn was for the project one of them had in mind. It may have been kid specific, but I didn’t stick around long enough to soak up any more details.

Two ladies differing in age were nestled into their chairs happily knitting and crocheting away. I probably would have joined them had I decided to carry some knitting with me but I had left it at the apartment as I didn’t want to lug it around all night long.

Knitty City had tons of yarn, patterns and a great book selection to choose from. I decided to move along to my next destination without purchasing anything because the prices seemed a bit high even for New York.

Purl Soho had been in my sights for quite some time. Intrigued by their website I couldn’t wait to see the shop in person and I was not let down in the least bit. The staff was very friendly and busy on a Friday evening. The wall full of yarn and fabric from my hip to way above my head was very impressive. The old school library ladder was nostalgic and added an element of play to the space.

Madelintosh Merino Light New York Manhattan Purl Soho

The lighting was notably NOT dull. Vivid colors popped off the walls and enticed you to touch the fiber. Having yet to purchase some hand dyed Madelinetosh yarn I decided Purl Soho would be the place to splurge. They didn’t have any “Sock” so I chose “Merino Light” in Blue Gingham, which also promised to be great for socks with its 420 yards of lushness.

(This week I discovered that I missed Katherine Heigl, who was buying yarn at Purl Soho, by five days. Geesh!)

I took a break from yarn shopping until Sunday when I visited Downtown Yarns, a very quaint shop in East Village. In search of yarn I couldn’t get my hands on in North Carolina, I found Royal China. Even though I had no idea what I wanted to make with this yarn (maybe a shawlette?) I had to bring it home with me.

$40 buckaroos later I was on my way home with three skeins of yarn stuffed into the nooks of my suitcase hoping the zipper didn’t budge. Thankfully it didn’t.

Royal China New York City East Village Downtown Yarns

 

One Reply to “NYC”

Leave a Reply

