Mojo

I’ve got my mojo back. It’s been a rough six weeks when it comes to my knitting. I just haven’t been able to focus which has resulted in many mistakes, frogging of rows and starting over. The simplest way to say it is “pure frustration.” While at Cozy earlier this week for their knit night I asked fellow knitters if they ever get into a knitting funk. Thankfully I wasn’t the only one who had experienced such an unusual need to repeatedly make mistakes. Margaret recommended I put the cursed projects down for a bit and start something quick and easy. So I did.

mug_cozy

I started with the Coral hat for Cora. And I decided to use some leftover Malabrigo worsted merino for a coffee mug cozy. I peeked at patterns on Ravelry, but decided to design my own. Below is the finished result and pattern.

mugcozy2

Setup

With size 6 needles, cast on 11 stitches
Knit 3 rows
Row 4: Knit 4, bind off 3 stitches, knit to end
Row 5: Purl 4, cast on 3 stitches, purl to end
Row 6: Knit
Row 7: Purl
Repeat rows 6 & 7 three more times

Begin increase

Row 1: Knit 1, KFB twice, knit 5, KFB twice, knit 1
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: Knit 1, KFB twice, knit to last three stitches, KFB twice, knit 1
Repeat rows 2 & 3 until you have 23 stitches
Knit 3 rows in garter stitch
mugcozy

Begin cable chart

MugCozy_CableChart

Repeat cable chart until the cozy measures 7″ or desired length keeping in mind you still need to decrease.

Begin decrease

Row 1: (RS) Knit 1, ssk twice, knit to last 5 stitches, k2g twice, knit 1
Row 2: Purl
Row 3: Repeat rows 1 & 2 until you have 11 stitches left
Knit even for 6 rows (stockinette)
Knit 3 rows in garter stitch
Bind off, block and sew on button

Download a PDF of the pattern here.

Leave a Reply

