Tour de Fleece – Days 3-8

Lately I’ve been slacking on my Tour de Fleece challenge. I spent Day 3 trying to card some corriedale fleece by hand with cat and hair brushes. The locks are pretty short and the carding is quite hard on the hands so I gave up. I think I need to line up a drum carding date with a fellow spinner to make the work much easier.

Cascade

I managed to finish the Cascade baby cardigan for my friend’s baby girl. I’m debating if the cardi needs buttons. It’s so cute!

Leaf MotifI also started a shawl with the same Plymouth Yarns superwash merino but in a steel gray color. I found this shawl construction tutorial a great resource for determining the best way to orient my increases and decreases. My shawl is following the end-to-end construction so that the leaf motif follows the bottom edge.

handspun wool

And today (Day 8) I finished spinning and plying the Louet wool project I mentioned during days 1 & 2. I’m very happy with the muted colors. I just hope the food color dyes hold up to multiple washings. Over the next week I hope to finish spinning and plying the remaining 80/20 BFL/silk fiber.

What kind of Tour de Fleece projects are you spinning up?

2 Replies to “Tour de Fleece – Days 3-8”

Leave a Reply

