WIPs and FOs

I realized recently that I haven’t blogged much about my crafting. Forgive me. I’ve been busy sewing, baking and knitting! Here’s a quick update of what’s been on my needles lately.
blackmittsI made my husband some basic fingerless mitts to keep his hands warm while driving in the winter. They are as some would say “vanilla” mitts because they’re so basic, quick and mindless knitting.
bugblankie

I finished this baby blanket with bugs under magnifying glasses for a good friend who lives in Washington state. Her son is around a year and a half old. I thought the vivid colors were perfect for an active little boy. And what boy doesn’t love bugs?

butterflyhat

IMG_1918

IMG_1924

I just finished blocking this butterfly hat for my mom. She absolutely loves butterflies. Last year for her birthday we visited the Museum of Life & Science in Durham who has a gigantic butterfly sanctuary. If you’ve never been and you love these little creatures, it’s a great place for all ages!

Capture

The pattern is called Butterfly Beanie by Erica Jackofsky (Fiddle Knits). It’s charted and great for any first timers in regards to fair isle because it only uses two strands.

flowertote

I love, love this tote. It’s for a craft fair we’re having at work just before Valentine’s day. The blue lining fabric was not easy to work with when it came to the interfacing but I absolutely love the flower print. The handles are reinforced with interfacing so they’re nice and sturdy.
marin1

I’m still working on my Marin shawl by Ysolda Teague. I’m using hand-dyed and hand-spun yarn. My mom and I dyed the fiber last year with KoolAid. The fiber content is 80/20 BFL/silk blend and I purchased it from Misty Mountain during Carolina FiberFest 2013. Unfortunately, I’m short on hand-spun yarn so I’ve used some commercial yarn on the last 1/3 of the shawl. More pics to come once it’s completely finished and blocked!

racoonblankie racoonfabricAnd here’s another baby blanket I finished. Aren’t the raccoons, deer and acorns adorable? This is for baby Maximo. He’s just over two weeks old. I hope this blankie keeps him warm and cuddly.

So what kind of crafting have you been keeping busy with lately? Any good knitting patterns you would recommend?

One Reply to “WIPs and FOs”

  1. The only thing that I can contribute to this post is: I want the tote. And, I love the fact that you paired a beer with the shawl. Makes me look at shawls in a whole new light!

Leave a Reply

