Water Lilies

malabrigo_merino_waterlilies3

This past fall I stopped by Hillsborough Yarn Shop to pickup donations for the Triangle Yarn Crawl’s Hospice of Wake County handmade items drive. While there I noticed a braid of roving from Malabrigo. I had no idea they sold roving so I bought one. The colors were a deep blue and purple.

malabrigo_merino_waterlilies4

I unzipped the braid back in February and noticed immediately the fiber was very compacted. It took quite a bit of work to open up the roving and I determined the darkest section wasn’t worth the time or energy so I threw part of it away.

malabrigo_merino_waterlilies

I took my time spinning the 4 oz with the goal of spinning more yardage than ever before. I successfully spun 389 yards, which is at least 100 yards more than in the past, so I was very happy with the end result. The hank is so, so soft and the colorway reminds me of Monet’s Water Lilies painting.

Tools used: Louet Victoria
Yarn Weight: Sport
WPI: 12
# of plies: 2
Twist direction: S = singles; Z = plied
Drive ratio: 8.5 : 1 for singles and plied

malabrigo_merino_waterlilies

I’m considering making an elongated and narrow shawl to show off the colors. Please send pattern recommendations my way if you have them!

Compacted Wool

Left side: Unfluffed

Right side: Fluffed

Leave a Reply

