Friday Fun: Weekly Menu Planning

Menu Planning

The best way to get the most out of your groceries is to plan ahead. I wrote a great blog post about how to do this, you can find it here, below are the highlights.

Check your calendar – Is your social life crazy this week or maybe you have a 20-miler Saturday morning? Either way be sure to plan meals around your busy life.

Consult mother nature – Check the weather forecast for the next 5-7 days so you avoid making raw tacos when its 30 degrees outside.

Take stock – Keep your pantry stocked with items you use regularly and take stock while you’re planning meals.

Organize your recipes – I prefer to have my recipes at my fingertips no matter where I am, which is great if you’re traveling and have a kitchen but not your physical cookbooks. Evernote allows me to search for my favorite recipes.

Keep things interesting – I like to keep things interesting in the kitchen and on the dinner table by selecting only 1 or 2 new recipes each week that sound and look delicious.

Share your tips and tricks – How do you plan meals or do you? Do you have any tips to share? Leave them in the comments so others can learn.

Friday Fun: Weekly Menu Planning – Moving forward I will share my weekly menu each Friday for the following week. My hope is to inspire you all to plan ahead so you’re not scrambling on busy weeknights. Since we’re traveling and camping this coming week I thought I’d share some of the recipes from the menus photographed in this post.

Shaved Asparagus Salad

Shaved Asparagus Salad by The Fitchen with Field Peas with Okra and Sausage from My Recipes

Apple Cheddar Burgers by Cooking Stoned served with Edamame and Beet Salad by The Washington Post

Grilled Eggplant

Grilled Eggplant Stacks by Maza Mag with Butter Bean Salad with Sun-dried Tomatoes, Kalamata Olives, Feta and Basil Vinaigrette by Kalyn’s Kitchen

 

 

Leave a Reply

