Friday Fun: The Vegan Challenge Week 3 – CARROT CAKE and a Father’s Day Menu

The vegan carrot cake by Oh Hell Yeah It’s Vegan I shared during Week 1 was delicious. I took a picture but it doesn’t do it justice so just take my word for it. Jon ate three pieces the night I made it. And it was a hit at work. People were amazed it was vegan and even asked for the recipe.

I improvised a bit as I didn’t have all of the ingredients. Instead of flax seed I used 1/2 cup of canola oil. I only had one cup of sugar so I used about 1/4 cup of brown sugar and a few tablespoons of agave. I only had one cup of powdered sugar for the frosting so I just went for it. The frosting tasted fine it just wasn’t as fluffy as maybe it would have been with the full two cups. All in all it was a hit and I highly recommend you make it too.

We start Week 3 of The Vegan Challenge this Sunday. If you’re looking for Father’s Day ideas, how about following my lead for my husband’s 40th birthday and making these three recipes:

Chipotle Pimento Cheese
Roasted Salsa Verde
Black Eye Pea, Portobello Mushroom & Spinach Patties

To make the pimento cheese vegan, use soy yogurt, vegan sour cream or mayonnaise, and vegan cheeses by Lisanatti Foods.

If you’re asking yourself “What is The Vegan Challenge after all?” Check out the Week 1 post. And here’s our Week 3 Vegan Menu, join along if you so choose to take on the challenge.

Avocado Corn Tomato Brussel Sprout Salad_2 Black Eye Pea Portobello Mushroom Spinach Patties

Black Eye Pea, Portobello, Spinach Patties with Avocado, Corn, Tomato & Brussels Sprout Salad both by Colorful Plates

Lemongrass Tofu Bowls by Sprouted Kitchen with Crunchy Cashew Thai Quinoa Salad with Ginger Peanut Dressing by Ambitious Kitchen

Fresh Guacamoletacos

Tacos inspired by Endless Taco Toppings with Fresh Guacamole by Colorful Plates.

2 Replies to “Friday Fun: The Vegan Challenge Week 3 – CARROT CAKE and a Father’s Day Menu”

  1. My mouth is watering! I’m sorry that I have not been able to participate in this challenge (aka making your amazing recipes thus far). An extra tight budget and moving preparations have us focused on what’s in the pantry first and foremost. BUT, after the 4th of July weekend, I will be cranking out your amazing fare.

Leave a Reply

